Guest Reviews

We love hearing how our guests enjoyed their barranca experience. Read the reviews from our past guests, and if you’d like to leave a review, please scroll to our instructions below.

Seriously special

“What an amazing place to stay! Seriously special views, polished accommodation, beautiful walks, attention to detail hospitality and the cutest array of farm animals (We loved the hands-on morning feed experience). Highly recommend.”

– Simon McKendry – Oct 2020

Escaping effortlessly

“As an option to the expected Bowral/Moss Vale two-day escape from Sydney we ventured a little further and found Kangaroo Valley a great alternative. Cottage stays are usually not our thing but all the creature comforts were indeed in ample supply. I usually call Room Service via an internal call but there was no need as our hosts were at the ready. First-class approach to an Australian countryside hideaway.” – via Hotels.com – March 2021

Breathtaking getaway

“We had a breathtaking getaway at the Jacaranda cottage, surpassing all expectations. Dawn breaks with kookaburras beckoning us to savor the picturesque fog that blankets the valley. After whip birds echo across the majestic escarpment, the donkey’s bugle call heralds the 8 AM feeding time for the families of pigs, water buffalo, and the gentle giants – the Shire Horses. The hospitable caretakers introduce the characters by name.
The recently renovated cottage offers immaculate facilities that we did not anticipate in a rustic environment. It blends country charm with a contemporary industrial look. All the wooden furniture is sourced on-site. Everything was so generously sized and fully stocked, starting with the wine ‘on the house’. Even the open fireplace was perfectly stacked, ready to ignite and crackle with natural warmth.

The caretakers even offered to drive us through the lush rainforest towards the freshwater creek – a euphemism for the spectacular rapids! We also checked out the blue-loving bower birds, wallabies, and wombats who call this sanctuary home.

Can’t wait to return with an even bigger group to make magical memories together.”

– Joseph – September 2020

Amazing discovery

“What a place! Nestled in one of the most beautiful valley’s I have been to in Australia. So close to Sydney it really makes for the perfect getaway. The views are spectacular and the accommodation is so well considered designed by a brilliant Architect. Every detail has been thought of, making ones stay incredibly comfortable so that guests can focus fully on relaxing! Top notch!”

– Yann Frampton – August 2020

Can’t wait to come back

“We had an awesome time at Barranca over a weekend. The place has great amenities (indoor and outdoor fireplace, wifi etc.) for hosting and has spacious bedrooms. The views are spectacular and would be great for a wedding. Everyone we spoke to was very helpful and assisted us with our requests and questions. We can’t wait to come back again!”

– Sophie – October 2020

Making memories

“Thank you barranca Kangaroo Valley for letting us experience your playground. A wonder of Nature, breathtaking escarpment views, tranquility, undisturbed bushland, rolling farmland, open starry skies, and beautiful luxury villas. This peaceful sense of adventure will stay with us for a long time.”

– Liahne Ha – November 2020

Highly recommend

“We had the most incredible time at Barranca – thank you! Magical surrounds, luxury accommodation with all the requisite comforts, the most friendly and beautiful animals and impeccable service. A truly special weekend we will not forget. I couldn’t recommend this highly enough!!”

– Sam Sloane – July 2020

Fantastic for friends and families

“Just spent three wonderful nights at the amazing Barranca luxury accommodation with my wife, 14-month-old and some friends with their young daughter. We were in the fantastic Ferndale house that was even more stunning in person than what the pictures on their site show. We all left saying we should have booked longer!

The house/suite/villa what you call it was magnificent! As soon as you approach you can see the effort, design and planning that has gone into the building. Plenty of cover for 2 cars to park, wood pilled up out front for the two fires you can have (one indoor, one outdoor). The layout is fantastic, especially for two couples with kids. A beautiful main bedroom with a massive window looking out to the valley and paddocks. Amazing views all day and night! You definitely feel like you have escaped your everyday. A great kitchen with all the cooking items and basic needs (like butter, salt & pepper, olive oil, milk, eggs even). Everything you need to cook up a feast in utensils and items. The dining table and lounge with TV and fireplace are all very comfortable and spacious. A BBQ on the deck and an outdoor fireplace make it a sensational stay. The things I really loved and appreciated were all the details, with things like 4 (count them 4!) power points on either side of the main bed! Don’t have to go looking to plug in all your devices to charge. The bathrooms are great and the air conditioning very warm (for a winter visit). There is nothing I could think of to improve, it’s been so well thought out and very high-quality build as well.

There are onsite caretakers stocking the firewood out the front to keep us warm and happy during the visit at the indoor and outdoor fireplaces just one of many great things she does.
Another great part of staying here is there are animals so close in the paddocks nearby that on any wander you will walk past the donkeys and horses, pigs, and buffalo. And make sure you are up in the morning to see them being feed and being part of that. They have the most amazing Shire horses I have ever seen! George is the biggest horse I have ever seen and is magnificent. They were all friendly and not put off by a 14 month’s old first experience of these animals.

Everything has been so well thought out and such a high quality of finishes and execution that it is truly an absolute joy to stay at.
If you get to go, add an extra day and it is a great place to stay and hang around, walk down to the creek (which we didn’t get to do but will do on another trip), and see the animals. We initially thought there would not be too much to do around there so did plan other activities in the area. However, wish we had spent more time here in the end. Just to sit and relax in the amazing location and facilities or just wander around the property.
We will definitely be back and would even make it a regular getaway. It is fantastic for a couple of families or groups of friends across a couple of the properties.”

– Shane B – August 2020

Write a Review

Did you enjoy your visit to barranca? We’d love to hear about it. Please enter your details and your review below…