Guest Reviews

We love hearing how our guests enjoyed their barranca experience. Read the reviews from our past guests, and if you’d like to leave a review, please scroll to our instructions below.

The perfect place to unwind

“We were very impressed with barranca – from the beautiful property filled with farm animals to the complimentary small touches such as wine and local chocolates. The caretakers were excellent and very helpful to our needs. A lovely place to visit to unwind and enjoy the view!”

– Maddie – May 2022

A truly magical place

“My girlfriends and I stayed for the weekend and had the most magical time. You could hear our squeals of delight all the way from the other side of the valley when we opened the doors and saw the breathtaking view for the first time. The complimentary rosé, bread, and slippers were such a nice touch and the property managers Rob and Bede were the most divine hosts. Highlights included the morning animal feeds where we were lucky enough to experience and witness the true love they have for the animals, the incredibly warm outdoor shower after our swim in the freshwater creek, the insane views, and all surrounding tranquility of the forests and the overall magic that barranca offers. We all left on Sunday with our hearts full. A truly magical place.”

– Libby – May 2022

Amazing hosts

“Location is perfect for a weekend away from city life. Beautiful house and amazing hosts who were very accommodating. Can’t ask for more.”

– Anh – May 2022

Can’t wait to return

“What an incredible weekend away. The property and animal feeding each day is a truly special experience. Everyone had the best time and we would love to return again.”

– Marc – May 2022

Kids loved it

“Perfect for a weekend away, you immediately start to relax and take in the atmosphere and views. Made a fire both nights, and the kids loved it. Staff were really kind and helpful.”

– Charles – May 2022

A special place to wake up

“Beautiful house and amazing valley view!! Bede and his partner were lovely and very attentive. We made total use of the outdoor fire pit and bbq. Plus, omg, there’s an amazing indoor open fire. Very well equipped kitchen and overall homely touches. Make sure you lock in one of the king rooms!!! A special place to wake up :)”

– Cecelia – May 2022

Five stars

“We loved our stay here. The caretakers were fabulous, generous and responsive hosts who made a great.”

– Rebecca – May 2022

Beautiful place & friendly people

“Beautiful location that’s amazing for people that want to get away from city life and relax. The caretaker is also very friendly.”

– Gurinder – May 2022

Just book it

“We stayed in the Willow villa. Nothing short of incredible. So many extra touches. The property is incredibly beautiful and secluded. Do not hesitate, just book it! And book a massage too. Bede and Rob were excellent hosts.”

– Vanita – February 2022

Can’t wait to return

“An incredible oasis, secluded and so beautiful. The surroundings were so surreal and the experiences such as the animal feeding and the river swim was so great! The hosts were extremely kind and knowledgeable. The actual accommodation was to die for! I cannot wait to return!”

– Sally – February 2022

The perfect getaway

“Stunning property and location with a beautifully appointed house. We loved the views, the wildlife, the farm animals, and the fire pit. It was the perfect place for a relaxing getaway.”

-Reanna – January 2022

We love everything barranca

“Thanks to the barranca team, especially Rob and Bede,  for accommodating us from 5 to 8 Jan .  We had a good time refreshing ourselves. We love the bread, butter, wine, chocolates, and everything about barranca.  We will be coming back too.”

– Yvonne – January 2022

Wonderful hospitality

“We had such a beautiful time at barranca. With young children, we made the most of feeding the animals in the mornings, walking down to the creek, and exploring the rocks and beautiful water. Kangaroo Valley itself is a nice little town, the pub had fantastic food and quite a few nice shops. Hospitality at barranca was wonderful and I would absolutely love to go again!”

– Belinda – January 2022

Thanks for having us

Here is the perfect combination of shocking nature and comfortable accommodation. Fed the pigs, horses, and donkeys in the morning. (The Shire horses here are very beautiful!)The caretaker and all the staff are kind and easy to communicate with! We had such a cozy holiday! Thanks for having us.

– Ning – December 2021

Paradise Found

“The accommodation was well designed and built. Quality furnishings. Clean and tidy. The view from the bedroom windows is 10/10. What an amazing property. Nothing to hear but nature. Walking down to the river was like walking into middle earth. So much untouched, subtropical land. My idea of paradise!”

– Michael – December 2021

Attention to detail

“We had a fabulous stay at barranca, it is just as beautiful in real life as the pictures. The views can’t be beaten. The villa is stunning, beds are super comfortable as well as thoughtful touches such soft slippers and a bottle of wine. Our two boys (aged 8 & 4) really enjoyed the daily 8am animal feeds with the buffaloes being a firm favourite, especially Bobby. Bede and Rob are the perfect hosts, full of warmth and knowledge while giving you plenty of privacy. We can’t wait to return.” – Chantel – December 2021

Would recommend a million times over

“By far one of the most beautiful properties we have ever stayed at. They have thought of everything, just simply stunning. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. The kids had the best time feeding all of the animals. A million times over recommend to anyone, thank you so much for making our stay so relaxing.” – Amy – December 2021

We’ll be back

“I could not recommend barranca more highly for a country / recharge/ disconnect getaway. Not sponsored, we are just very happy guests. We will be back.” – Brooke – December 2021

The perfect place to relax

“Best trip ever! If you are looking for somewhere nice and quiet, away from the busy city lifestyle, this is the one. We had such an amazing time.”
– Ens – November 2021

Wonderful stay

“We had such a great time at barranca. We had the Willow villa which had plenty of space for our adult family. The villa itself is gorgeous with amazing floor-to-ceiling windows that are cleverly designed to take in the awesome view of the escarpment.

You have everything you need to get the firepit (or indoor fireplace) going, toast marshmallows, cook dinners, play good music, play games. They leave lovely treats for you including take home slippers 🙂

At 8am the caretakers let you participate in feeding the animals – pigs, donkeys, horses, and buffalo! This was a lot of fun!

We had kangaroos come right up to our villa at sunset. About 20 minutes drive away you can see wombats at Bendeela at sunset.

Some of our group thought the beds a bit hard but I thought they were fine. I really can’t fault this place. I would totally recommend going there!”

– Iluvtravel1001 via trip advisor – November 2021

Horse highlights

“Barranca is such a lovely place to spend time at. The cabin was equipped with everything we needed for our short getaway and we got to meet some of the animals living there. Getting up close to the Shire horses was a highlight for us. Also, the caretakers are really friendly.” – Cherry – January 2021

Total luxury

“Truly luxurious farm stay! Every detail has been thoughtfully considered. Exceptional hospitality. The most stunning property.”

– Tara – July 2020

Seriously special

“What an amazing place to stay! Seriously special views, polished accommodation, beautiful walks, attention to detail hospitality and the cutest array of farm animals (We loved the hands-on morning feed experience). Highly recommend.”

– Simon McKendry – October 2020

What a place!

“barranca is nestled in one of the most beautiful valleys I have been to in Australia. So close to Sydney it really makes for the perfect getaway. The views are spectacular and the accommodation is so well-considered and designed by a brilliant Architect. Every detail has been thought of, making one’s stay incredibly comfortable so that guests can focus fully on relaxing! Top notch!”
– Yann – December 2020

Spectacular views

“We had an awesome time at barranca over a weekend. The place has great amenities (indoor and outdoor fireplace, wifi etc.) for hosting and has spacious bedrooms. The views are spectacular and would be great for a wedding. Everyone we spoke to was very helpful and assisted us with our requests and questions. We cant wait to come back again!”

– Sophie – December 2020

Magical!

“We had the most incredible time at Barranca – thank you! Magical surrounds, luxury accommodation with all the requisite comforts, the most friendly and beautiful animals and impeccable service. A truly special weekend we will not forget. I couldn’t recommend this highly enough!!”

– Sam – December 2020

Breathtaking getaway

“We had a breathtaking getaway at the Jacaranda cottage, surpassing all expectations. Dawn breaks with kookaburras beckoning us to savor the picturesque fog that blankets the valley. After whip birds echo across the majestic escarpment, the donkey’s bugle call heralds the 8 AM feeding time for the families of pigs, water buffalo, and the gentle giants – the Shire Horses. The hospitable caretakers introduce the characters by name.
The recently renovated cottage offers immaculate facilities that we did not anticipate in a rustic environment. It blends country charm with a contemporary industrial look. All the wooden furniture is sourced on-site. Everything was so generously sized and fully stocked, starting with the wine ‘on the house’. Even the open fireplace was perfectly stacked, ready to ignite and crackle with natural warmth.

The caretakers even offered to drive us through the lush rainforest towards the freshwater creek – a euphemism for the spectacular rapids! We also checked out the blue-loving bower birds, wallabies, and wombats who call this sanctuary home.

Can’t wait to return with an even bigger group to make magical memories together.”

– Joseph – September 2020

Amazing discovery

“What a place! Nestled in one of the most beautiful valley’s I have been to in Australia. So close to Sydney it really makes for the perfect getaway. The views are spectacular and the accommodation is so well considered designed by a brilliant Architect. Every detail has been thought of, making ones stay incredibly comfortable so that guests can focus fully on relaxing! Top notch!”

– Yann Frampton – August 2020

Can’t wait to come back

“We had an awesome time at Barranca over a weekend. The place has great amenities (indoor and outdoor fireplace, wifi etc.) for hosting and has spacious bedrooms. The views are spectacular and would be great for a wedding. Everyone we spoke to was very helpful and assisted us with our requests and questions. We can’t wait to come back again!”

– Sophie – October 2020

Making memories

“Thank you barranca Kangaroo Valley for letting us experience your playground. A wonder of Nature, breathtaking escarpment views, tranquility, undisturbed bushland, rolling farmland, open starry skies, and beautiful luxury villas. This peaceful sense of adventure will stay with us for a long time.”

– Liahne Ha – November 2020

Highly recommend

“We had the most incredible time at Barranca – thank you! Magical surrounds, luxury accommodation with all the requisite comforts, the most friendly and beautiful animals and impeccable service. A truly special weekend we will not forget. I couldn’t recommend this highly enough!!”

– Sam Sloane – July 2020

Fantastic for friends and families

“Just spent three wonderful nights at the amazing Barranca luxury accommodation with my wife, 14-month-old and some friends with their young daughter. We were in the fantastic Ferndale house that was even more stunning in person than what the pictures on their site show. We all left saying we should have booked longer!

The house/suite/villa what you call it was magnificent! As soon as you approach you can see the effort, design and planning that has gone into the building. Plenty of cover for 2 cars to park, wood pilled up out front for the two fires you can have (one indoor, one outdoor). The layout is fantastic, especially for two couples with kids. A beautiful main bedroom with a massive window looking out to the valley and paddocks. Amazing views all day and night! You definitely feel like you have escaped your everyday. A great kitchen with all the cooking items and basic needs (like butter, salt & pepper, olive oil, milk, eggs even). Everything you need to cook up a feast in utensils and items. The dining table and lounge with TV and fireplace are all very comfortable and spacious. A BBQ on the deck and an outdoor fireplace make it a sensational stay. The things I really loved and appreciated were all the details, with things like 4 (count them 4!) power points on either side of the main bed! Don’t have to go looking to plug in all your devices to charge. The bathrooms are great and the air conditioning very warm (for a winter visit). There is nothing I could think of to improve, it’s been so well thought out and very high-quality build as well.

There are onsite caretakers stocking the firewood out the front to keep us warm and happy during the visit at the indoor and outdoor fireplaces just one of many great things she does.
Another great part of staying here is there are animals so close in the paddocks nearby that on any wander you will walk past the donkeys and horses, pigs, and buffalo. And make sure you are up in the morning to see them being feed and being part of that. They have the most amazing Shire horses I have ever seen! George is the biggest horse I have ever seen and is magnificent. They were all friendly and not put off by a 14 month’s old first experience of these animals.

Everything has been so well thought out and such a high quality of finishes and execution that it is truly an absolute joy to stay at.
If you get to go, add an extra day and it is a great place to stay and hang around, walk down to the creek (which we didn’t get to do but will do on another trip), and see the animals. We initially thought there would not be too much to do around there so did plan other activities in the area. However, wish we had spent more time here in the end. Just to sit and relax in the amazing location and facilities or just wander around the property.
We will definitely be back and would even make it a regular getaway. It is fantastic for a couple of families or groups of friends across a couple of the properties.”

– Shane B – August 2020

Write a Review

Did you enjoy your visit to barranca? We’d love to hear about it. Please enter your details and your review below…